Five Tamil party leaders to contest from Jaffna

ballot boxLeaders of five Tamil political parties are to contest in the Jaffna district in the current general election. ITAK leader Mavai Senathirajah, EPRLF Leader Suresh Premachandran, PLOTE Leader D. Sitharthan, EPDP Leader Douglas Devananda and TNPF Leader Gajendrakumar Ponnambalam are the leaders of five political parties that are to contest from the Jaffna district.

The TNPF will contest under the Cycle symbol of the  All Ceylon Tamil congress, at the Election in Northern and Eastern provinces. The Tamil National Front (TNPF) will continue its journey on a policy of One Country Two Nations said its leader Gajendrakumar Ponnambalam addressing the press on 03 July in Jaffna. he said  the Tamil people should decide whether they are going to vote for the destruction of the Tamil Nationalism or the rise of the Tamil Nationalism.

The Sri Lanka Muslim Congress is to contest ten districts in alliance with the United National Party  under the ‘Elephant’ symbol.

The districts include two districts in the north and east. This decision was taken after SLMC Leader Rauff Hakeem met UNP Leader Ranil Wickremasinghe at the UNP Head Quarters Sri Kotha recently.

The Up country People’s Front has decided to put forward State Minister V.Radhakrishnan to contest from Nuwara Eliya and Aravinda Kumar to contest from Badulla under the ‘Elephant’ symbol. R. Yogarajan, P. Rajadurai, M. Uthayakumar, P. Digambaram are also to contest under the UNP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *