Presidential task force on reconciliation appointed

reconciliation A Special Presidential Task Force on Reconciliations chaired by Charlie Jayawardene has been established under the directives of President Maithripala Sirisena.

The Task Force comprises Javed Yousuf, Kandiah Neelakandan, Professor Savithri Gunesekera, Dr. Ram Manikkalingam, Rienzie Arsecularatne and Priyanthi Fernando.

The objective of appointing the Task Force is to ensure trust, unity and the contribution of all to uplift the nation while healing the wounds of mistrust as well as social and cultural tension between different communities in Sri Lanka due to conflict and violence. One of the responsibilities of the Task Force would be to identify instant solutions to issues among ethnicities, and to resolve disputes faced by the people.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *