DMK tells CMAG members to keep out of Sri Lanka

chogm    A delegation of Members of Parliament of the DMK on Tuesday gave a memorandum to several member countries of the Commonwealth Ministerial Action Group (CMAG) in Delhi urging them to not hold the 2013 Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) in Colombo slated to be held from November 15 to 17.

Speaking to Express over phone from Delhi, DMK MP and spokesperson TKS Elangovan said the Parliamentarians highlighted, among other things, the UNHRC resolution on war crimes and the reports of the Amnesty International and Human Rights Watch on genocide in Sri Lanka.

“We impressed upon them that many national governments, NGOs, and world organisations have come out against the genocide in Sri Lanka. We urged them that it would not be appropriate to hold the meeting there at this juncture,” Elangovan said.

On Tuesday, DMK MPs called on representatives of Trinidad and Tobago, Australia and Jamaica and are likely to call on others on Wednesday. “We don’t intend calling on Bangladesh’s representative as it supports Sri Lanka,” the DMK leader pointed out.

Elangovan, TR Baalu, A Raja, KP Ramalingam and Helen Davidson were among the MPs who called on the representatives of the CMAG.

According to the Commonwealth Secretariat, the current members of CMAG are Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, Jamaica, Maldives, Sierra Leone, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago and Vanuatu. Maldives is currently not “participating” as the nation itself is under scrutiny by the group. CMAG deals with serious or persistent violations of the Harare Declaration, which contains Commonwealth’s fundamental political values. (New Indian Express)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *