President removes partys central committee members

maithripala sirisena.jpg  2Sri Lankan President Maithripala Sirisena removed 13 members from his Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) central committee hours after a parliamentary election was concluded on Monday. The move came after speculations that some senior SLFP members may attempt to remove Sirisena from the party following the election results.

President Maithripala Sirisena, ordered the removal of 13 members from the party’s Central Committee, SLFP sources said. The members who have been removed include Rathnasiri Wickramanayake, Susil Premajayantha, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, D. M Jayaratne, Janaka Bandara Tennekoon, Kamala Ranatunga, Rohitha Abeygunawardena, Salinda Dissanayake and John Seneviratne.

The president has already appointed new members to the central committee to replace those who have been sacked. According to SLFP sources the following nine new members have been appointed. Chandrika Kumarathunga, Vishwa Warnapala, Faizer Musthafa, Jeewan Kumarathunga, Atauda Seneverathna, U.K. Ariyathilake, Ruwan Ranathunga, Kesaralal Gunasekara and Keerthi Udawatta.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

214,634 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>