central bank 2Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe has taken several important financial institutions under his purview, according to the gazette notification issued on the subjects under each minister.

The Prime Minister holds the portfolio of Policy Planning and Economic Affairs.

The Prime Minister has taken the Central Bank, the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) and the Employees Trust Fund under his purview.  Traditionally the Central Bank and the SEC are institutions that come under the Finance Ministry.

The other institutions under the Prime Minister are the Public Utilities Commission and the subjects of Child, Youth and Cultural Affairs. However, the insurance industry regulatory body IBSL continues to be within the purview of the Finance Ministry.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *