Eastern CM to face no-faith motion

No confidenceOpposition political parties in the Eastern Provincial Council have threatened to move in a no-confidence motion against incumbent Chief Minister, Mohamed Najeeb Abdul Majeed, on November 24, claiming he is not competent to be Chief Minister.One of the opposing parties, the All Ceylon Muslim Congress (ACMC) claimed hat they wanted a deputy ministerial post for Amir Ali, however, President Rajapaksa has so far not kept his promise.

According to inside sources, Minister of Economic Development, Basil Rajapaksa too has assured that the matter would be solved, but so far the matter has been ignored. ACMC’s Amir Ali secured more votes than all others but was not given any post. The present CM was the one who secured the lowest number of votes.

The SLFP which was given four seats plus two on the national list, had also been offered two bonus posts; a Chairmanship and Ministerial post, but nothing was given to the ACMC so far, the ACMC claimed. According to sources, on November 24, around six members from the ACMC, SLMC UNP and TNA will move the No confidence motion against the Chief Minister.

Last week, ACMC had a meeting with its 70 party representatives, where a heated argument broke out with their leader Rishad Bathiudeen. Now the ACMC, along with the other Opposition parties are working on a No confidence motion, Ceylon Today learns.Among the 12 elected UPFA members, three are from the ACMC (Batticaloa District), three from National Congress (Digamadulla), one from the National Freedom Front (Trincomalee) and five from the SLFP representing all three districts.

A reliable source from the ACMC said, that from 2005 they had been supporting the UPFA, but they had given up hopes and now they will see how they can continue to work with this government as they see a ‘bleak’ future

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

216,149 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>