No-fire-zone 2The highly controversial Channel 4 film ‘No Fire Zone: The Killing Fields of Sri Lanka’ produced by Outsider Films in association with Channel 4 and ITN productions (United Kingdom) has been nominated by the United Kingdom for the 42nd International Emmy Awards Nominations: the top television awards in the US in the Documentary category.

Nominations are from 18 countries: Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, France, Germany, Japan, Netherlands, the Philippines, South Africa, South Korea, Sweden, Turkey, the UK and, for the first time, the US.The nominees, unveiled today (October 13), span 10 categories.

Other British nominees include: the crime-thriller “Utopia” (drama series), “An Adventure in Space and Time” (TV movie/miniseries) about the creation and early years of the “Dr. Who” sci-fi series, “No Fire Zone: The Killing Fields of Sri Lanka” (documentary) and “Educating Yorkshire” (non-scripted entertainment).

The Channel 4 film ‘No Fire Zone’ was today (Oct 13) included among the non-fiction nominees for the 2014 International Emmy Awards. ‘No Fire Zone’ is a feature length film about the final awful months of the 26 year long Sri Lankan civil war told by the people who lived through it.

Its producers say it is a meticulous and chilling expose of some of the worst war crimes and crimes against humanity of recent times – told through the extraordinary personal stories of a small group of characters and also through some of the most dramatic and disturbing video evidence ever recorded.

The documentary, which was screened around the world including the United Nations Human Rights Council, has received staunch rejection and criticism from the Sri Lankan government. The Government had however denied the allegations raised against the military in the movie and some countries had even refused to allow the film to be shown.

Winners will be announced at a black-tie ceremony on November 24 at the Hilton New York Hotel.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *