Prince ZeidIn the opening statement the new UN Human Rights Chief Zeid Ra’ad Al Hussein is due to make at the 27th session of the UNHRC on 08 September 2014, he has asserted that he encourages Sri Lankan authorities to cooperate with the probe on Sri Lanka led by the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) in the interests of Justice and accountability.

He has expressed concern over the threats that are currently being levelled against the human rights community in Sri Lanka as well as on the prospective victim and witnesses.

” Moreover, I attach great importance to the investigation on Sri Lanka mandated by this Council, on which OHCHR will report later in the session. I encourage the Sri Lankan authorities to cooperate with this process in the interests of justice and reconciliation. I am alarmed at threats currently being levelled against the human rights community in Sri Lanka, as well as prospective victims and witnesses. I also deplore recent incitement and violence against the country’s Muslim and Christian minorities.”

The 27th regular session of the Human Rights Council will be held from 08 to 26 September 2014 in Geneva.

The session will open at 9 a.m. on Monday 8 September with an address by the new United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights, Mr. Zeid Ra’ad Zeid al-Hussein, who will update the Council on the activities of his Office.
An oral update from the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights on the situation in Sri Lanka as a follow up to its resolution adopted in March establishing a commission of inquiry will be made on 24 September 2014.
The composition of the Council at its twenty-seventh session is as follows: Algeria, Argentina, Austria, Benin, Botswana, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Chile, China, Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Czech Republic, Estonia, Ethiopia, France, Gabon, Germany, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kuwait, Maldives Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Namibia, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Romania, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Sierra Leone, South Africa, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela and Viet Nam. – See more at:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *