Malaysian Prime Minister has confirmed he will attend CHOGM

chogm     Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak will attend the 23rd Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) which will be held in Sri Lanka from the 15th to the 17th of next month.

“We have confirmation that Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak will be attending CHOGM next month,” said Foreign Ministry’s assistant secretary for the South Asian desk, Mashitah Ahmad when contacted by phone.

There have been calls by certain parties for Malaysia to boycott the meeting following Sri Lanka’s alleged war crimes against its Tamil population.

Yesterday, Suaram advisor Kua Kia Soong made the call because Malaysia sponsors the World Moderate Movement and has even formed a war crimes tribunal against the US and Britain – for their invasion into Iraq.

Four days ago a coalition of Indian NGOs also urged Najib to boycott the meet due to alleged human rights abuses committed by the Sri Lankan government against the countries’ Tamil minorities.

Former Teluk Intan MP M Manogaran expressed that he was pessimistic about Najib boycotting the meeting as Malaysia had abstained from voting on the UN resolution against the island nation last year.

Other Commonwealth member countries however have already indicated that they definitely will not be attending the meeting. Canada is one of the boycotting nations.

Its Prime Minister Stephen Harper said that he was boycotting the meeting because the Sri Lankan government led by President Mahinda Rajapakse has failed to explain the rampant violation of human rights against the Tamil minorities perpetuated by the his government.

The Tamil minorities led by the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam group have been waging war against the Sri Lankan government for over 20 years.

Even though the war ended in 2009, the Tamil minorities continue to be ‘confined’ by the government, in internally displaced people’s camps located in specific areas of the country.

Besides Canada, Kenya has also indicated that they will not be attending and are lobbying Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Nigeria, South Africa and Zambia to join the boycott.(Malaysia Today)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

214,492 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>