TNA rebels to ensure election manifesto is implemented

 TNA rebels    A group of Tamil National Alliance (TNA) members who boycotted the oaths taking ceremony of the Northern Provincial Council (NPC) said that they will continue to ensure the TNA election manifesto is implemented to the point.

Speaking at a joint press briefing in Jaffna the leaders of the EPRLF and PLOTE as well as TELO member M.K Shivajilingam‎ and EPRL member Sivashakthi Ananthi said their party members will not boycott the Northern Provincial Council.

The nine council members who had boycotted the official ceremony held on  11 Oct will take oaths at Mullivaikal on Monday 14.

TNA MP and EPRLF leader Suresh Premachandran said that his party is keen to fight for the rights of the Tamils and not for Ministerial posts in the Northern Provincial Council.

He said that his party will push for self determination for the Tamils and will look to work with the international community to reach that goal.

PLOTE leader Dharmalingam Siddharthan said that party politics must be put aside and the Council must work with one goal which is to implement the mandate given by the Tamils.

Meanwhile Shivajilingam said that his party members had decided to take oaths in Mullivaikal where hundreds of civilians were believed to have been killed during the final stages of the war.

While TELO leader Selvam Adaikalanathan attended the Jaffna ceremony yesterday, Shivajilingam said his party position was the ceremony had been organized without obtaining full consent of all the constituent members of the TNA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

217,346 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>