Some in TNA unhappy over Wigneswaran taking oaths before President

Ananthy Sasitharan    Tamil National Alliance (TNA) Northern provincial council member elect Anandi Sasitharan has decided to boycott taking oaths in front of new Chief Minister C.V. Wigneswaran, the Colombo Gazette learns.

Sections of the TNA are said to be unhappy over the party’s decision to allow Chief Minister C.V. Wigneswaran to take his official oaths before President Mahinda Rajapaksa. General Secretary of ITAK the TNA’s main constituent party Marvai Senathirajah told a weekend newspaper in Colombo that Wigneswaran’s swearing in should not be made a fuss.

After Wigneswaran takes oaths the remaining provincial council members of the TNA will take oaths on or after October 11. However the wife of former LTTE Trincomalee District political head S. Elilan is reportedly angered by Wigneswaran’s decision to take oaths before President Mahinda Rajapaksa tomorrow.

Sources close to Sasitharan said that she has also not been invited for Wigneswaran’s oaths taking ceremony tomorrow. Anandi Sasitharan has decided to take oaths in front of a Justice of Peace instead of attending the official ceremony, sources said.

Sasitharan received the second highest votes at the Northern provincial council elections after Wigneswaran.

She was invited to contest the polls by TNA General Secretary Mavai Senathirajah and just two days ahead of the polls her house was attacked by armed men.

Sources told the Colombo Gazette that Sasitharan is also disappointed with the TNA as the party has not taken concrete measures to ensure she has security after the attack.

She now feels that she was used by the party to secure votes among the Tamils in the North and is now being sidelined.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

215,437 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>