New Army Commander appointed

sinhala– සිංහල

Ay Comd Genaral rathnayaka 

President  Mahinda Rajapaksa has appointed Major General Daya Ratnayake  as the new Commander of the  Sri Lanka Army. Major General Daya Ratnayake has been being promoted to the rank of Lieutenant General and appointed as Commander of the Sri Lanka Army with effect from 1st August, the Defense Ministry said.

Lieutenant General R.M.D Ratnayake, more popularly known as ‘Daya Ratnayake’ is currently the 43rd Chief of Staff in the Sri Lanka Army and will become the 20th Commander of the Sri Lanka Army.

After his education at Maliyadeva College Kurunegala he joined the Army on 6th February 1980. Commissioned as 2nd Lieutenant on 18th July 1981 he was posted to the Sri Lanka Light Infantry.   Lieutenant General Ratnayake, a keen athlete since his early school days was the President of the Sri Lanka Amateur Athletic Association and served as a Council member the Sri Lanka Rugby Union. Lieutenant General Daya Ratnayake is married to Damayanthi and the father of two sons and a daughter.

He was previously the Commissioner General, Rehabilitation of former LTTE combatants and Colonel of the Regiment, Sri Lanka Light Infantry (SLLI). His dedication and contribution for Rehabilitation of ex-LTTE combatants under Ministry of Justice has won him plaudits from all quarters both at local and international levels

Lieutenant General Ratnayake, served as Military Spokesman between 2004-2006. He served as Commander, Forward Maintenance Area (North) from August 2007 to August 2009. Lieutenant General Ratnayake was also the General Officer Commanding, 23 Division from December 2005 until up to August 2007 during the  Humanitarian Operations in the East.

Some of other key appointments, held by Lieutenant General Ratnayake to-date are: Chief of Military Staff at MoD (2003-2004), Area Commander, Kandy (2002-2003), Commandant, SLLI Regimental Headquarters (2001-2002), officiating Commander for 533 & 534 Brigades (1998-2000), Commanding Officer, Officer Cadet Training Wing, Sri Lanka Military Academy, Diyatalawa (1996-1998), Regimental Adjutant, SLLI (1991-1992) and a few other appointments including those in the Unit between 1981-1992.

Lieutenant General Rathnayake as an Infantry officer has followed a number of local and foreign training courses during his illustrious career. Commando Officers Course (India), Infantry Young Officers Course (India), Battalion Special Weapons Course (India), Infantry Staff Officer Course (USA), Junior Commander Course (India), Staff Course (Bangladesh), Senior Commander Course (India), Infantry Course (USA), Management Course (India) and National Defence University Course (China).

Meanwhile incumbent Army Chief General Jagath Jayasuriya has been appointed as Chief of Defence Staff with effect from August 01, the ministry said. Present Chief of Defense Staff Air Chief Marshal Roshan Goonetileke will relinquish his position on the same day.

හමුදාපති ලෙස මේජර් ජනරාල් දයා රත්නායක මහතාව පත්කරයි….

ජනාධිපති මහින්ද රාජපක්‍ෂ මහතා විසින්, යුද හමුදාපති ලෙස මේජර් ජෙනරාල් දයා රත්නායක මහතා ලුතිනන් ජෙනරාල් ලෙස උසස්වීමක් ද සමග පත්කර තිබේ.
මේ අතර හිටපු යුද හමුදාපති ජෙනරාල් ජගත් ජයසූරිය මහතා ආරක්ෂක මාණ්ඩලික ප්‍රධානී තනතුරට පත්කර මේ අනුව නව ආරක්ෂක මාණ්ඩලික ප්‍රධානී ලෙස ජෙනරාල් ජගත් ජයසූරිය මහතාත්, නව යුද හමුදාපතිවරයා ලෙස ලුතිනන් ජෙනරාල් දයා රත්නායක මහතාත් කටයුතු කරනු ඇත. ජනාධිපති මහින්ද රාජපක්ෂ මහතා විසින් කරනු ලැබූ අදාළ නව පත්වීම් ද්විත්වයම ආගෝස්තු මස 01 වන දින සිට බලපැවැත්වෙන බව ආරක්ෂක අමාත්‍යංශය පවසයි.

1949 දී පිහිටවනු ලැබූ ශ්‍රී ලංකා යුද හමුදාවේ 19 වන යුද හමුදාපතිවරයා ලෙස 2009 ජූලි මස 15 වන දින ජගත් ජයසූරිය මහතා පත්වූ අතර ඒ අනුව 20 වන යුද හමුදාපතිවරයා ලෙස ලුතිනන් ජනරාල් දයා රත්නායක මහතා ඉදිරි කාලය තුළ වැඩ බාරගනු ඇත.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

216,162 Spam Comments Blocked so far by Spam Free Wordpress

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>